Showing posts with label Year in Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Year in Review. Show all posts

Friday, December 30, 2022

𝟮𝟬𝟮𝟮 𝗬𝗲𝗮𝗿 𝗶𝗻 𝗥𝗲𝘃𝗶𝗲𝘄: 𝗡𝗲𝘄 𝗟𝗶𝗳𝗲 𝗶𝗻 𝗖𝗮𝗻𝗮𝗱𝗮


𝙏𝙝𝙚 𝙮𝙚𝙖𝙧 2022 𝙝𝙖𝙨 𝙗𝙚𝙚𝙣 𝙖 𝙢𝙚𝙖𝙣𝙞𝙣𝙜𝙛𝙪𝙡 𝙡𝙞𝙛𝙚 𝙘𝙝𝙖𝙥𝙩𝙚𝙧 𝙛𝙤𝙧 𝙢𝙚. 𝙏𝙝𝙞𝙨 𝙞𝙨 𝙬𝙝𝙚𝙣 𝙄 ð™©ð™§ð™–𝙫𝙚𝙡𝙚𝙙 𝙩𝙝𝙤𝙪𝙨𝙖𝙣𝙙𝙨 𝙤𝙛 𝙢𝙞𝙡𝙚𝙨 𝙖𝙬𝙖𝙮 𝙛𝙧𝙤𝙢 𝙝𝙤𝙢𝙚 𝙩𝙤 𝙨𝙩𝙖𝙧𝙩 𝙖 𝙣𝙚𝙬 𝙡𝙞𝙛𝙚 𝙞𝙣 𝘾𝙖𝙣𝙖𝙙𝙖. 

It's a new beginning for me as a newcomer to a place that gives opportunities for growth and success. As I leave the Philippines, I have with me all the good memories, life lessons, and faith that will serve as my inspiration to move forward to the next chapter. 

Travel from the Philippines to Canada 

I feel the love and support of my family as I bid farewell. It was a wonderful journey as I think about what lies ahead; my dreams and desires. 

I carry the lessons learned from my parents and cherished those precious moments with them. My family is my inspiration to strive for the better. To keep on fighting and living a good life. 

Even when I'm far away from home, we're always connected and they get inspired by the things that I share about my new life. 

Spring has Sprung 

I arrived in Canada in the 2nd half of Winter, in February 2022. Although I haven't experienced heavy snowfall, I still feel cold adjusting to the frigid weather. 

And then the Spring season began in March and that was pleasant weather. That's the time when Cherry blossoms are everywhere and romantic scenery makes people smile and feel loved. 

It feels good to have visited Victoria, the capital of British Columbia. It was a charming and laid-back city on Vancouver Island,  but full of history and amazing places and culture. Vancouver Island is just an hour-and-a-half ferry ride away from Vancouver's mainland. 

It was a fantastic trip as we celebrate Holy week 2022 in Victoria. They have the mildest weather in British Columbia, so people enjoy strolling around while enjoying the scenic views. 

Spring reminds us of a beautiful new beginning. It's like a restart button after things become chaotic. It's this season that we get to travel more and explore places, tastes various cuisines, and enjoys events. 

Summer Season in the Sun 

Summer is the time of being outdoors. The weather is temperate and it's the best time for camping in the mountains, the woods,  and the creek side. 

Summer can be very hot, but it doesn't stop us from traveling to places for adventure and new experiences. 

It can be warm to hot just before the summer officially began, so we can feel the summer vibe already. We traveled to Logan lake which is located in the Northeast of Vancouver and can be reached in 5 hours. That's the longest land travel I experienced in British Columbia. We had a great weekend camping and the best road trip ever. 

I celebrated my birthday in the summer on the Sunshine Coast and it was a memorable experience to travel the coastal towns with magnificent views. 

We had a creekside camping, a walk on a beach, a stroll at the harbor, and a wonderful ferry ride. 

The summer season makes the lawn dry for several months of drought, but some farms can be so green, like the Richmond Country Farms where we enjoyed the Sunflower festival. 

The sunset is late during the summer as the night starts between 9 - 10 pm while the dawn is as early as 4:30 am. That means we may have shorter sleep and more Netflix time. 

Fall in Love 

The Fall season is truly a magical scenery as the leaves turn to different colors like yellow, red, orange, and brown. It makes the surroundings a golden hue when the leaves are still not falling from the trees. And when it falls to the ground, it's just awesome and lovely. 

It is during the fall season that farmers get to harvest their produce, so farms get so busy with their festivals and activities. I enjoyed the pumpkin patch experience, the pumpkin soup, and the pumpkin pie. 

During the Fall season, we celebrate Thanksgiving for the blessings and graces we received and for the bountiful harvest the farmers shared with everyone. 

Winter Wonderland 

This is the season when winter storms can cause chaos in the city. It may be hard to travel at times when the road is covered with snow that lasts for several days. 

I experienced the first major snowstorm of this year on November 29 when I was stranded on the road for almost 2 hours and suffered from shivering. 

The days become shorter and the nights become longer during winter time. It can be dark as early as 4 pm and very cold when the temperatures hit below freezing point. 

We live in the Pacific Northwest region of Canada in British Columbia which has the mildest temperature in the country. It's not as harsh and frigid as the central and eastern sides of Canada. So we're blessed with a favorable climate all year round. 

Winter season is fun when we experience snow activities in mountain resorts. We went to Mount Seymour in North Vancouver a week before Christmas Day and enjoyed some activities like toboggan and tubing. There's no reason to be just stuck at home when we can still enjoy the snow until it lasts. 

Four Seasons in Canada 

I've experienced Canada's four seasons: Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. Every season has its character and charm. I can't say which one is the most or least beautiful. I simply live to experience the good things each season brings. 

We have made it this year, 2022. We have traveled great distances in British Columbia and had a meaningful journey. We discovered places, explore local cultures, and enjoyed the food, the wine, and the music. 

There are so many things to enjoy and experience, so we look forward to more travel in the year 2023. Life is a journey on the road. It gives a new perspective on something. 

Once in a while, we need to unwind, recharge and rejuvenate, and this can be achieved through traveling, exploring places, and experiencing new things. 

This year is also about developing new skills as I venture into Youtube vlogging. I've been a blogger since 2011, but I need to upgrade my skill to integrate the world of vlogs into creating meaningful travel journals. 

I've named my Youtube channel, Del Make it Happen as a reflection of my goals and aspirations to be accomplished. 

The year 2022 has been a roller coaster of emotions. I've learned about many things in Canada and hope to continue living my best life while achieving my most cherished hopes and dreams. 

©️ 2022 Del Cusay 

Related Posts: 

👉 2021 Year in Review: Reunited in Love 

👉 2020 Year in Review: Overcoming Great Odds 

👉 2019 Year in Review: The Greatest Love

Sunday, December 26, 2021

2021 Year in Review: Reunited in Love

It's been a year full of surprises, meaningful experiences, and creating lasting memories. That's how I would describe the happenings in the year 2021. 

This is the year we fought hard to survive life's challenging moments. We've been breaking the walls that set boundaries. We've defied restrictions that set limitations. 

We've welcomed the year with a positive spirit that things will become better. And the first quarter of 2021 was a fulfillment of dreams and wishes. There were moments of fantasy-like experiences. Tears in our eyes smile on our faces and moments of laughter make a rollercoaster of emotions.

A Great Family Bond

Family is love. That's how I feel at the beginning of the year 2021. A warm feeling that opens the heart and radiates light to everyone. 

Family is always there to guide and help along the way.  Their overwhelming response and attention are something I would be grateful for. I wouldn't be able to accomplish things by myself and with them by my side makes me feel relieved. I'm glad that they're always there to the rescue when things aren't going well.

This year is extra special as I step into another chapter of my life. This may be the beginning of more challenging life ahead. However, I look forward to more beautiful days to come as I envision what comes next and what lies ahead.

Lessons from the Pandemic

Covid-19 didn't hinder grand plans for this year. We've become more resilient and had increased willpower to push through what we have in mind. 

We celebrated birthdays and special occasions in a simple yet meaningful way. We traveled to places even on a short distance to spend time relaxing and unwinding. We spent our Soulful Sunday moments with contemplation about what life's about. 

Life shouldn't stop us from doing the things we love despite the challenges we're facing. We've learned to adapt to the new normal and accept the reality that Covid-19 will be now part of our existence.


In mid-2021, we've done our part by having ourselves inoculated with the Covid-19 vaccine. It's a way of protecting our health and also of our loved ones and other people. It's wise to stay healthy in times of pandemic. We can't afford to get sick and we dare to survive this global health threat.

Christmas in our Hearts

I'm thankful to have celebrated Christmas together with my family in my hometown. We may not be altogether a complete family, but we feel the connectedness as a family. 

Christmas time brings us joy as we celebrate the remaining days of the year. This is the time when we're in a lighter mood as we look forward to a brighter new year. 


This year's Christmas may not be the brightest, but we're able to bring smiles and joy to other people who visited our home. This is our way to share something to give back for the blessings received. There are so many sad events this year, so it's good to bring back the smiles on each other's faces.

My "Year in Review" is about looking back on the good things that have happened for the entire year. I'm grateful for all the life lessons learned, opportunities, and experiences that made me better. 

There are sorrowful moments, but I've learned to let go and move on. What's important is I've gained valuable insights for enlightenment and personal development. 

My gratitude to the Divine for the power, love, and light. I've made it this year and hoping for the best as I welcome the new year with higher hopes and aspirations. And I also look forward to another year full of inspiration.

©️ 2021 Del Cusay

Related Post:


Sunday, December 27, 2020

2020 Year in Review: Overcoming Great Odds

What a challenging year it has been! Full of surprises, chaos, and unmet expectations. A year of lost hopes and breaking barriers. That's how I sum up the year 2020. 


No matter how good the year 2020 has started, there are always obstacles along the road. That's an uncertain moment of what the future holds. 

How the year started

Celebrating New year 2020 with my family was one of the best moments. It brought happiness and a joyful spirit to be with my loved ones.

We've shared lots of meaningful conversations, short travels, and family gatherings that bonded us strongly. We don't get a chance to celebrate yearly together as one big family, and whenever we do, we make it sure to be very memorable.

Meaningful moments had been a celebration with a dear person in my life. I had a great time and sweet memories that I always reminisce.

The Great Challenge

The end of the first quarter of 2020 brought misery to our lives. The pandemic caused by Covid-19 knocked us down. It made us paralyzed for a moment. It made us worry, fear, and angry over the unknown enemy.

Covid-19 made a global freeze. No local and international flights, some travel restrictions, closed businesses, and bankrupt companies. 

It had separated countries by closing the borders, made us feel disconnected through physical distancing, and taught us to set boundaries for our protection and of our loved ones.

Before the lockdown in March this year, I have shared a meaningful journey with special people in my life. We have never thought that the worst is yet to come, but we celebrated the triumph with courage, faith, and love.

Despite this centuries' surprise, we're able to survive and thrive. No matter how challenging the situations are, we keep a fighting spirit to live a good life on a new normal.

Lessons from the Pandemic

Lots of meaningful lessons are thrown at us to learn. This current pandemic is just a preview of a series of disastrous moments to come to humanity. We have to prepare to experience the worst. And so, we can better prepare for the next to come. Be better and be bold.

That's a great lesson for humanity, but the pandemic made us realize that we're all globally connected and can feel people's suffering wherever they are in the world.


However, it's not the end of the world. We had to do something. We don't have to feel miserable, lonely, or depressed. Instead, we have made things possible.


In times of pandemic, food is an essential thing to survive. When people in the cities are having a challenge in their food supplies, people in the countryside or rural areas have a reason to be more grateful.

Integrated farming lifestyle

My parents decided to make use of their time while on lockdown. And so they started to develop our farmland to be our new lifestyle.

With integrated farming, it has converted our farm into a mini forest with different kinds of trees. This place is where I do forest bathing every time we visit the farm. Its healing effect is Wonderful as it helps to be more grounded. To be connected to the natural source.


We've also started to plant vegetables and fruits and have made farm-fresh harvest for our food on the table. This time, health must be an utmost priority. We have to strengthen our immunity against diseases, and so it's good to eat organic fruits and veggies that are more healthy and keep us strong and having more energy.

Overcoming challenges

We've had enough of the Covid-19, and we help to defeat it. It can never break and kill us as long as we keep the faith.

When we can travel again without restrictions and quarantine status is on the lowest level, we rejoice that finally, we are back to normal, although some health protocols are still in place.

We've had some simple family gatherings to celebrate precious moments and religious devotions. This time no kisses and hugs, but a little distance to ensure safety. It's a robotic feeling, but we have to get used to it.

Christmas in our hearts

Our world brightens up when the 'Ber' month started. We're in a festive mood and celebrating Christmas early on.

From September to December, we anticipate a very long Christmas season unique among Filipinos. It brings hope that we can always be cheerful and win any battle of life's ups and downs.

And so, we celebrate Christmas. It may not be the merriest celebration this year, but we never fail to bring the light of hope and higher aspirations. 

This Christmas in times of pandemic is a reminder to be with the people who truly matter, to celebrate with simplicity and with the highest gratitude. It's a time for introspection about our purpose and our continued journey in life. To give hope and bear the light.

Christmas time is the most anticipated moment, and so we make peace with ourselves over wrongful actions. This holiday is the time for a soulful evaluation of the previous year. And also the best time for planning for the next year ahead.

So many turn of events. Some unexpected moments. Some unimaginable happenings. The year 2020 may be the beginning of a new earthly change, but it's also the beginning of a New personality and more refined energy.

©️ 2020 Del Cusay

Related Post:

👉 Year in Review 2019: The Greatest Love

Thursday, December 26, 2019

2019 Year in Review: The Greatest Love

The year 2019 is about to end and it's the time of the year to have a review of another roller coaster ride of life events and milestones.

This year 2019 is like a deep slumber. I am in a deeper state of rest and slow-paced living. As I experience this kind of life, I am learning life lessons about simple living and natural healing.

Religious Devotion

It was my first ever experience to see the flock of thousands of devotees of the Black Nazarene on its feast day in January 2019. That was followed by the feast of Santo Niño or the Child Jesus in the same month. These religious events strengthen my faith and to believe in a Supreme higher Divine power who does miracles in our lives.

It was also my first time to celebrate the feast day of The Our Lady of Perpetual Help Lomboy Parish on June 27, 2019. The Blessed image is known to bring miracles for those who believe and pray through the intercession of the Blessed Mary, the Mother of Christ. 
I may not be able to celebrate the feast day of the Our Lady of Perpetual Help Lomboy Parish in the years to come, but my parents and loved ones will be there for the expression of devotion through prayers and religious activities.

Personal Development

  • Health  This year I have learned to listen to my body and to slow down a bit. A balanced and healthy diet gives nourishment and healing from illnesses. Although it's hard to fully commit, it teaches me about health consciousness for a better living. 
  • Meditation.  As I swing through a hammock, I am relaxed and at peace. While sitting on a chair and having a glimpse of the sunrise and sunset gives a wonderful feeling about God's loving presence. That's my kind of meditation. Feeling great and sometimes in a trance state but with eyes wide open. 
  • Developing Habits. Waking up early morning and early bedtime makes a good daily habit. I didn't have the luxury of quality sleep in the past years and so now I feel great upon waking up fully recharged. 
Celebrating Victories

On May 14, 2019, our father was elected by the people to serve for another term as a Sangguniang Bayan Member in our town. This is his 5th term in service since he started in 1998-2007 and came back to serve in 2016 after 9 years. We are part of my father's victory as we fully support his candidacy and his commitment to be of service to the people. 
Welcoming Opportunities 

On October 30, 2019, the Sorosoro Ibaba Development Cooperative or SIDC was opened in our Community at the R&L Commercial building. We're grateful for this great opportunity to serve the people through various products and services offered by the country's largest Agricultural - based Cooperative. This is the greatest blessing not only for my family but also for the whole community. We're blessed and hoping for more opportunities in the years to come. 
Sustainable Farm Development 

My parents have finally initiated their plans for sustainable environmental development. The newly developed integrated farm features Mahogany trees, different kinds of fruit-bearing trees, and plants that help in cooling off the surroundings. This is where we go to unwind and have a good conversation while having a cup of coffee. In the years to come, this farm will achieve its sustainability as we open some livelihood opportunities.
Some of my Soulful Sunday moments were inspired by the farm. A natural environment is truly a gift from God and we're healed naturally from being connected with nature. 

Christmas in our hearts

We gathered again as a big family. It feels great to see the kids growing up as a teen. We had a great Holiday celebration over the past years and that was memorable and meaningful. This year we celebrate the Christmas eve mass or Misa de Gallo at the Our Lady of Perpetual Help Lomboy Parish followed by a Noche Buena; a good night meal to share with the family.
Christmas is about celebrating the birth of Christ as the center of our faith and it's the time of getting together as a family. This is the best time to enjoy the year-end, and the time to renew old habits and beliefs. 

We may have a stormy Christmas day and a shaky earth experience, yet we're comforted and saved by His Divine Mercy. We remain to be resilient through the calamities that we encounter and it'll help us deal with future crises. 

One thing that moved me is the Christmas message of Pope Francis when he shared about the unconditional love of Christ, saying "God continues to love us all, even the worst of us. You may have mistaken ideas, you have made a complete mess of things, but the Lord continues to love you." and that's the expression of His greatest love. 

We all have wronged with our thoughts, intentions, and actions at some point, but God continues to show His love and mercy on us. He cleanses our spirit and uplifts our souls, so we may also continue to show our love to others.

I celebrate the holidays with the people who matter in my life. We may have differences and life choices, but we still bond stronger as one family. This Christmas is about love and understanding and we would want a New year with a new beginning. 

© 2019 Del Cusay

Related Post: